You are here:  Home  >  Serb. Monitoring  >  Current Article

Greek and Macedonian PMs nominated for Nobel Peace Prize (B92)

By   /  29/01/2019  /  Comments Off on Greek and Macedonian PMs nominated for Nobel Peace Prize (B92)

    Print       Email

Nobel Peace Prize Winner for 2015, Wided Bouchamaoui has officially nominated Greek and Macedonian prime ministers for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize.

According to the Greek City Times, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev are in the running for his prestigious award thanks to the signing of the Prespa Agreement.

The agreement, signed in June 2018, renames the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (whose constitutional name was “the Republic of Macedonia)”) into “the Republic of North Macedonia.”

Bouchamaoui thinks that the Prespa Agreement is a model of a peaceful and constructive solution to bilateral issues and major differences between neighboring countries and which, as such, could be used not only in the Balkans but everywhere in the world.

“The ratification of the agreement by both countries has shown that conversation, positive energy, decency and a sense of good neighborliness are crucial for solving open issues, regardless of pressure from nationalists on both sides,” the Tunisian businesswoman said.


    Print       Email

You might also like...

Montenegrin language school in Pristina banned (Gracanicaonline.info)

Read More →